DIALOGFELD III

FLYER

Jennis Li Cheng Tien

In 2010 she completed her master studies at the Bauhaus University in Weimar and since then she has been living in Berlin.

Jennis Li Cheng Tien's works oscillate between installations and ephemeral, time- and site-related interventions in the public space. The visually perceptible abstraction of sociological and anthropological contexts is a key aspect of her work. It is precisely this observation of social structures and spaces that leads to her very own approach, in which she translates the intersection of approaches from the disciplines of architecture, sculpture and urbanism into her own methodical work.

www.jennislichengtien.de

06.08.18_0824.jpg

umschichten | Alper Kazokoglu

umschichten work at the interfaces of art, architecture and design. They use the power of temporality to materialize a state of emergency, a secret wish or a problem, thus setting in motion mental processes and discourses on spatial futures and programs. Their artistic practice is based on a careful handling of material and a strongly contextualized approach on site. Processes and states of transition are examined - in the material as well as in the site.

Alper Kazokoglu, born in 1986, studied architecture at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and Scenography and exhibition design and media art at the Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe. He has been working with umschichten since 2010 and was involved in many projects during this time. His most recent projects are the "Plastikausplastik", Essen (2017) and the theatre project "Hexenhüttentraumpaläste", Stuttgart (2018). In his work, he expands the examination of built space through aspects from the performative and visual arts. In the process, entrenched workflows are liquefied and structural hierarchies dissolved.

www.umschichten.de

29.07.18_0804.jpg

DIALOGFELD III

Jennis Li Cheng Tien

2010 absolvierte sie an der Bauhaus Universität in Weimar ihr Masterstudium und seitdem lebt sie in Berlin.

Jennis Li Cheng Tiens Arbeiten schwingen zwischen Installationen und vergänglichen, zeit- und ortsbezogenen Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum. Die visuell erfahrbare Abstraktion soziologischer und anthropologischer Zusammenhänge sind Standpunkte ihrer Werke. Eben diese Betrachtung der sozialen Strukturen und Räumlichkeiten führt zu ihrer sehr eigenen Herangehensweise, in der sie die Überkreuzung aus Ansätze der Disziplinen von Architektur, Plastik und Urbanistik in ein ihr eigenes methodisches Schaffen übersetzt. 

www.jennislichengtien.de

umschichten | Alper Kazokoglu

umschichten arbeiten an den Schnittstellen von Kunst, Architektur und Design. Sie nutzen die Kraft der Temporalität, um einen Ausnahmezustand, einen geheimen Wunsch oder ein Problem zu materialisieren und so mentale Prozesse und Diskurse über Raumzukünfte und -programme in Gang zu setzen. Ihrer künstlerischen Praxis liegt ein behutsamer Umgang mit Material und eine stark kontextualisierte Vorgehensweise vor Ort zu Grunde. Untersucht werden Prozesse und Zustände des Übergangs – im Material wie im Ort.

 

Alper Kazokoglu, geb. 1986, studierte Architektur am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie und Szenografie, Ausstellungsdesign und Medienkunst an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe. Seit 2010 arbeitet er mit umschichten und war in dieser Zeit an vielen Projekten beteiligt. Zuletzt an der „Plastikausplastik“, Essen (2017) und dem Theaterprojekt „Hexenhüttentraumpaläste", Stuttgart (2018). In seiner Arbeit erweitert er die Auseinandersetzung mit gebautem Raum, durch Aspekte aus den performativen, sowie der bildenden Kunst. Dabei werden eingefahrene Arbeitsprozesse verflüssigt und strukturelle Hierarchien aufgelöst.

www.umschichten.de