DIALOGFELD II

FLYER

Design Displacement Group

Marthe Prins | Benedikt Weishaup

Marthe Prins (Amsterdam, NL) and Benedikt Weishaupt (Berlin, D) have been working together since 2014. The topics of their work are investigative practices on the design language of privatized border security (Frontex), alternative W-LAN infrastructures and the optimization of individual wage labor.

Their first joint work Why One Internet - The Power of Mesh is a speculative exploration of alternative wireless network infrastructures developed by NGOs, which often hide  the geopolitical agendas of soft power and neo-feudalism behind their altruistic appearance. (with Gilles de Brock)

Through a performative lecture at the Royal College of Arts in London (with the Design Displacement Group), they reflected on their way of working in times of optimization and automation of workflows in the age of networked capitalism, in which companies try to spiritualize work efficiency through quantified meditations and so-called productivity parties. The Design Displacement Group, a collective of 14 individuals, pursues an approach of collaborative production as a form of rejection and protest against individualized labor, thus undermining individual authorship.

For and with We Are Here, a group of undocumented fugitives, Weishaupt and Prins have investigated the contradictory legal systems to which "rejected" fugitives are subjected and have devised a strategy for making them visible.

During the Dialogfelder, Prins and Weishaupt examine the concepts of "chaos" (female) "order" (male) in contemporary right-wing rhetoric and examine their links to Joseph A. Schumpeter's work Capitalism, Socialism and Democracy. Particular attention will be paid to the interpretation of Schumpeter's "entrepreneurial spirit" by neoliberal and new-right intellectuals. Prins and Weishaupt will question the "chaos theories" of star intellectuals such as Richard Florida and Jordan Peterson and their role in the normalization of aestheticized politics. Both bestselling academics make use of functioning academic models of the machine-indices, classes, and plans-and construct theories through speculation and apospheric inventions of meaning. In discussing the role of poetry and performance within today's intellectualized right-wing agendas, Peterson, who has been called upon many times to intellectually underpin them, comes into play.

designdisplacementgroup.com

Raphael Schhwegmann

Raphael Schwegmann (Dr. rer. nat.), economic geographer and historian, teaches at the Institute of Geography at the University of Münster. In his dissertation ("Nacht-Orte", published by transcript in 2016) he examined general facets of urban nightlife in the conflict area between culture and economy. His second monograph ("Kraft-Horte", transcript 2017) analyses the topographies of European cities as mobile political concepts that can 'travel' between metropolises and thus create networks.

IMG_4410.JPG

DIALOGFELD II

Design Displacement Group

Marthe Prins | Benedikt Weishaup

Marthe Prins (Amsterdam, NL) und Benedikt Weishaupt (Berlin, D) arbeiten seit 2014 zusammen. Die Themen ihrer Arbeit sind investigative Praktiken zur Designsprache der privatisierten Grenzsicherung (Frontex), alternative W-Lan-Infrastrukturen und die Optimierung der individuellen Lohnarbeit.

 

Ihre erste gemeinsame Arbeit Why One Internet – The Power of Mesh ist eine spekulative Auseinandersetzung mit alternativen kabellose Netzwerk-Infrastrukturen, welche von NGOs entwickelt werden und hinter ihrem altruistischen Anschein oft nur die geopolitischen Agenden von soft power und Neo-Feudalismus verstecken. (mit Gilles de Brock)

 

Mittels eine performativen Vorlesung am Royal College of Arts in London (mit der Design Displacement Group) reflektierten sie ihre Arbeitsweise in Zeiten von Optimierung und Automatisierung von Arbeit im Zeitalter des vernetzten Kapitalismus, in dem Unternehmen Arbeitseffizienz durch quantifizierte Meditationen und sogenannte Produktivitäts-Parties zu spiritualisieren versuchen. Die Design Displacement Group, ein Kollektiv aus 14 Individuen, verfolgt einen Ansatz der gemeinschaftlichen Produktion als Form der Ablehnung und des Protest gegen individualisierte Arbeit und höhlt so die individuelle Autorenschaft aus.

 

Für und mit We Are Here, einer Gruppe undokumentierter Geflüchteter, haben Weishaupt und Prins die widersprüchlichen Rechtssysteme untersucht, denen „abgelehnte“ Geflüchtete unterworfen sind, und eine Strategie zu deren Sichtbarmachung entworfen.

 

Während der Dialogfelder werden Prins und Weishaupt die Konzepte “Chaos“ (weiblich) „Ordnung“ (männlich) im gegenwärtiger rechtsgerichteter Rhetorik untersuchen und deren Verbindungen zu Joseph A. Schumpeters Werk Kapitalismus, Sozialismus und Demokratie untersuchen. Besonderes Augenmerk wird auf der Deutung Schumpeters „Unternehmergeistes“ durch neoliberale und neurechte Intellektuelle liegen. Prins und Weishaupt hinterfragen die „Chaos-Theorien“ von Star-Intellektuellen wie Richard Florida und Jordan Peterson sowie deren Rolle in der Normalisierung einer ästhetisierten Politik. Beide Bestseller-Akademiker bedienen sich funktionierender akademischer Modelle des Maschinischen – Indices, Klassen und Pläne – und konstruieren Theorien durch Spekulation und aposphärische Bedeutungserfindungen. In der Diskussion der Rolle von Poesie und Performanz innerhalb heutiger, intellektualisierter rechter Agenden kommt der vielmals zu deren intellektuellen Untermauerung herangezogene Peterson ins Spiel.

Raphael Schhwegmann

Raphael Schwegmann (Dr. rer. nat.), Wirtschaftsgeograph und -historiker, lehrt am Institut für Geographie der Universität Münster. In seiner Dissertation ("Nacht-Orte", 2016 bei transcript erschienen) untersuchte er generelle Facetten des urbanen Nachtlebens im Spannungsfeld von Kultur und Ökonomie. Seine zweite Monographie ("Kraft-Horte", 2017 bei transcript erschienen) analysiert die Vergnügungstopographien von europäischen Großstädten als mobile Politikkonzepte, die zwischen Metropolen 'reisen' und so Netzwerke herstellen können.