top of page
facebook_veranstaltungseader.jpg
niklas bild.jpeg

Niklas Roy

Niklas Roy is a Berlin-based freelance artist, with a background in the film industry, specializing on 3D art and Visual Effects. Through his artistic work, he explores art, science and technology, often in the form of humorous installations and machines. With a hands-on, DIY-approach, he undertakes most of the construction himself, as for him engineering, constructing and coding is a useful process for learning and new idea creation. His field of interest are the history and imaginary futures of technology. By working with different materials and techniques, he develops interactive media, through which he shares the unique and sometimes bizarre fruits of his contemplations. Together with his partner Kati Hyyppä, he furthermore develops workshop concepts for participants of all ages.

https://www.niklasroy.com

kati bild.jpeg
IMG_0052.JPG

BridA
Tom Kerševan, Sendi Mango, Jurij Pavlica

BridA is a collective made up of Venice Academy of Fine Arts graduates Tom Kerševan, Sendi Mango, and Jurij Pavlica which was formed in 1996 during their university years. The group, which produces artwork across a wide spectrum of contemporary artistic practices, exhibits both locally and internationally, and has participated in numerous international residency programs, workshops, and seminars. It has been invited several times to curate the Pixxelpoint Festival in Nova Gorica and the R.o.R. Festival of contemporary artistic practices in Šempas. BridA’s works have been purchased for multiple international contemporary art collections. In 2015 it received the highest award of the Municipality of Nova Gorica, i.e. the France Bevk Prize, in honour of 20 years of successful activity, and in 2018 it was the recipient of the international Tesla Award, conferred by the Museum of Transitory Art in Ljubljana. It received of the Iaspis scholarship awarded by the Swedish Ministry of Culture, and a Culture Bridges grant, awarded by the British Council with the support of EU funds.

BridA’s artistic production spans a broad field of interdisciplinary art practices. The artists leverage innovative technological and scientific approaches that create revolutionary new ways of understanding contemporary art. Their interactive projects actively involve the public in the artistic process, and through the years the public has become the main protagonist of their artistic projects.

http://www.brida-kud.si

Kati Hyyppä

 

Kati Hyyppä is a Finnish, Berlin-based artist and educator who works at the intersection of art and technology. In addition to building objects and installations, she gives courses and workshops. Her practice is rooted in materiality and hand-making, exploring different media from electronics and code to wood, recycled objects and textiles. Being inspired by the DIY and hacker culture, her process centers on curiosity and learning through experimentation. Her projects often include an element of participation, critical making and humor as means to open up a dialogue with society’s technological surroundings.

http://katihyyppa.com

‣VEKTOR

KOLLEKTOR

NIKLAS ROY & KATI HYYPPÄ

Vektorkollektor is an interactive installation that enables people to draw pictures with a joystick. The mechanism of the machine comes from an old plotter from the 80ies, which has been modified and furnished with music and light effects. The installation is built as a handcart and put into action in various public places in Chemnitz. On site, the artists collect vectors, using this device. Everyone is invited to draw pictures through the playful interface and take their creations home. Additionally, the coordinates of all lines drawn will be archived in the form of an analogue-digital data set.

All vectors drawn with the Vektorkollektor are digitally transferred to the website and can be viewed here:
 

228767627_1055538188312157_6749393603916805572_n.jpeg

>> Vektorkollektor

photo credit: Johannes Richter

BridA Trackeds Chemnitz.jpg

‣TRACKEDS &

DOITYOURSELF

BRIDA

T R A C K E D S

BridA's Trackeds investigates the dynamics of movement and topographical structures in the city. Through photographs of diverse dynamic sites, a non-linear function is visualised that illustrates the chaotic movements of self-organising structures in selected urban contexts. The artists analyse the construction process of the visual work. They automate the interpretation of the process steps with a mathematical equation.

D O I T Y O U R S E L F

Is the direct transfer of art into society possible? Can a work be independent of the artist(s)?

How is the critical distance between work and artist defined in the making? These questions are the starting point for a reassessment of already entrenched artistic creative processes, which are now taken apart and reassembled with a fresh approach. A picture is broken down to its pixels; following automated instructions, passers-by paint these on a canvas. Square by square, an entirely new picture is generated through human error and collective work.

>> Trackeds Chemnitz, City Centre

photo credit: BridA

DSC09101.jpg

>> Work on vektorkollektor

photo credit: Johannes Richter

DSC09112.jpg

>> Vektorkollektor

photo credit: Johannes Richter

‣THREE QUESTIONS TO

NIKLAS ROY

 

What were your first associations when you heard about "drag & drop"?

Niklas: "When I heard about the topic of drag & drop, I thought: sure - that has something to do with GUI's, with computers, with surface interaction, with dragging and dropping files. On the other hand, of course, it also fits very well with what my partner Kati and I do together artistically. We often work digitally and in public spaces, and that entails taking our physical installations with us ('dragging') and then just dropping them wherever we find an audience ('dropping')."

 

What kind of project have you thought about for this year's Dialogfelder?

 

Niklas: "The project we are currently working on together will be a "vector collector", a mobile device with which we collect vectors. The idea is that people can make drawings with a joystick. The images will be stored digitally and we will build up an archive of vector drawings. We will process the vectors in the final week, with the aim of leaving something lasting on Sonnenberg."

 

Digitality in Chemnitz urban space, especially on the Sonnenberg: science fiction or everyday life?

 

Niklas: "On the Sonnenberg, I immediately noticed the positive network coverage via Freifunk. I would also like to have something like that in Berlin. Chemnitz is already further ahead than other cities and that's a great thing."

‣THREE QUESTIONS TO

BRIDA

What kind of project did you plan for this year’s Dialogfelder?

Sendi: "Immediately when we got contacted by Klub Solitaer we had an idea to make the city the protagonist of our project. Actually we created two projects:  „DO IT YOURSELF“ is in a way a performance in which we paint collectively with the public. We go in a special location, maybe a park. Then we start painting, listening to the audio instructions and invite people to join us to produce this painting together.

The second project is „Trackeds“ where people are again participants in the project but they are not aware of it. The project is about filming the city from specific locations and using the movements from the streets from cars and people as a tool of creating a new artwork and music."

 

Did you already had an image of Chemnitz in advance and did you create new image when you were here? 

Sendi: "No, we knew that Chemnitz was elected for the European Capital of Culture 2025 like our city Nova Gorica. When we arrived is was a very cold and rainy day - nobody was on the streets. But then my perception of the place changed in the next days because I saw later how much is happening here and that there are actually a lot of people around you. I know this sounds to proper Chemnitzers absurd maybe:  but so fare I encountered only people who are very openminded. So if my image has changed, it changed for the better. "

What do you want to tell us with your work at Dialogfelder? 

Sendi: "Actually the people of Chemnitz are meant to talk about their ideas and dreams for the city.  We just like to be three artists behind the camera and observe what happens and then maybe also have a talk with people to have a feedback."

Jurji: "For our work it is typical that we create an environment where the public becomes the main focus. The people who will participate will actually create an artwork. The interesting part of our work is that the art doesn’t depend only on us. At the end we are also observers, not only artists."

DSC09598.jpg

>> DOITYOURSELF Chemnitz

photo credit: Johannes Richter

DSC09642.jpg

>> DOITYOURSELF Chemnitz

photo credit: Johannes Richter

‣LOCAL SPIN-OFF

INES EISINGER | BIKINIKOMMANDO

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/3
künstlerische Dokumentation_BridA_Ines Eisinger.jpg

>> "Artistic documentation Dialogfeld 2"

‣MEDIATION FORMATS

Through diverse art mediation formats, we integrate the neighborhood in this year's DIALOGFELDER. Experiments with digital technologies and hybrid formats complement each other - often playful and always participatory, we offer the locals new artistic tools for urban space transformation in the context of small events and actions in the district, so that they are empowered to jointly re-shape their quarter. 

WORKSHOP

GRAFFITIPLOT

KATI HYYPPÄ

SUN-SIGN
VEKTORSCOPE

Through DIY and handcrafting techniques, this workshop devises objects and experiences related to new technologies. Hands-on multimedial experiences are hereby made available to the neighborhood.

A huge graffiti was created on the facade of Jakobstraße 43, In cooperation with Tortuga e.V.. Plotted by locals, the collected vectors are thus visualized as an idea-collection in the district. 

A neighborly horoscope devised from the plotted drawings (vectors) and associative texts written by locals, who thereby share their creative and quaint associations concerning the collected ideas with the public. 

By applying a universal formula, everyone can calculate their own sun-sign and catch a glimpse of their future!

07.08.21_1909
07.08.21_1909

press to zoom
07.08.21_1924
07.08.21_1924

press to zoom
Finalisierter Grafittiplot
Finalisierter Grafittiplot

press to zoom
07.08.21_1909
07.08.21_1909

press to zoom
1/3

>> Workshop Graffitiplot

bottom of page

niklas bild.jpeg

Niklas Roy

 

Niklas Roy lebt und arbeitet als freischaffender Künstler mit Hintergrund im Filmbereich (3D Kunst und Visual Effects) in Berlin. In seiner Arbeit untersucht er Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie durch oftmals humorvolle Installationen und Maschinen. Einem DIY-Ansatz folgend, übernimmt er den Entwurf und Bau dieser Maschinen größtenteils selbst, da für ihn Ingenieursarbeit, Konstruktion und Coding einen Prozess des Lernens und der Ideengeneration anstoßen. Sein Interesse gilt dabei der Geschichte ebenso wie potentiellen Zukunftsszenarien von Technologien. Durch die Arbeit mit diversen Materialien und Techniken entwickelt er interaktive Medien, durch die er seine neuartigen, teils bizarren Beobachtungen teilt. Zusammen mit seiner Partnerin Kati Hyyppä entwickelt er zudem Workshopkonzepte für Teilnehmer:innen aller Altersgruppen.

https://www.niklasroy.com

kati bild.jpeg
IMG_0052.JPG

BridA
Tom Kerševan, Sendi Mango, Jurij Pavlica

 

BridA ist ein Kollektiv, das aus den Absolventen der Kunstakademie Venedig Tom Kerševan, Sendi Mango und Jurij Pavlica besteht und 1996 während ihrer Studienzeit gegründet wurde. Die Gruppe, die Kunstwerke in einem breiten Spektrum zeitgenössischer künstlerischer Praktiken produziert, stellt sowohl lokal als auch international aus und hat an zahlreichen internationalen Residenzprogrammen, Workshops und Seminaren teilgenommen. Sie wurde mehrmals eingeladen, das Pixxelpoint Festival in Nova Gorica und das R.o.R. Festival für zeitgenössische künstlerische Praktiken in Šempas zu kuratieren. Die Werke von BridA wurden für mehrere internationale Sammlungen zeitgenössischer Kunst angekauft. 2015 erhielt sie die höchste Auszeichnung der Gemeinde Nova Gorica, den France Bevk Preis, zu Ehren ihrer 20-jährigen erfolgreichen Tätigkeit, und 2018 den internationalen Tesla Award, verliehen vom Museum of Transitory Art in Ljubljana. Es erhielt das Iaspis-Stipendium des schwedischen Kulturministeriums und ein Culture Bridges-Stipendium, das vom British Council mit Unterstützung von EU-Mitteln vergeben wurde.

Die künstlerische Produktion von BridA umspannt ein breites Feld interdisziplinärer Kunstpraktiken. Die Künstler setzen innovative technologische und wissenschaftliche Ansätze ein, die revolutionäre neue Wege zum Verständnis zeitgenössischer Kunst schaffen. Ihre interaktiven Projekte beziehen das Publikum aktiv in den künstlerischen Prozess ein, und im Laufe der Jahre ist das Publikum zum Hauptakteur ihrer künstlerischen Projekte geworden.

http://www.brida-kud.si

Kati Hyyppä

 

Kati Hyyppä ist eine finnische Künstlerin und Vermittlerin, die in Berlin im Spannungsfeld zwischen Kunst und Technologie arbeitet. Neben ihrer Arbeit an Installationen und Objekten realisiert sie Kurse und Workshops. Ihre Arbeitsweise hat ihre Wurzeln in der materiellen, handwerklichen Arbeit mittels derer sie verschiedene Medien von Elektronik über Code bis hin zu Holz, recycelten Objekten und Textilien erforscht. Inspiriert wird Hyyppä dabei von der DIY- und Hacker-Kultur, wobei ihr Arbeitsprozess auf Neugier und Lernen mittels Experimente basiert. Ihre Projekte beinhalten oft ein partizipatives Element, eine kritische Herangehensweise und Humor als Mittel zum Anstoßen eines Dialogs mit den technischen Gegebenheiten, welche unsere Gesellschaft prägen.

http://katihyyppa.com

‣VEKTOR

KOLLEKTOR

NIKLAS ROY & KATI HYYPPÄ

Vektorkollektor ist eine interaktive Installation, die Menschen mit einem Joystick Bilder zeichnen lässt. Der Mechanismus der Maschine stammt aus einem alten Plotter aus den 80er Jahren, der modifiziert und mit Musik und Lichteffekten versehen wurde. Die Installation ist in Form eines Handwagens gebaut, der an unterschiedlichen öffentlichen Plätzen in Chemnitz zum Einsatz kommt. Vor Ort sammeln Kati und Niklas mit dem Gerät Vektoren ein. Dabei sind alle eingeladen, durch das spielerische Interface Bilder zu zeichnen und ihr Kreationen mit nach Hause zu nehmen. Allerdings werden die Koordinaten aller Linien auch in Form eines analog/digitalen Datensatzes archiviert.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Tortuga e.V. entsteht außerdem ein aus den Vektoren gestaltetes, großformatiges Wandbild.

Alle am Vektorkollektor gezeichneten Vektoren werden digital auf www.vektorkollektor.com übertragen. 
Im Nachgang können alle gesammelten Vektoren animiert auf der Website betrachtet werden:

228767627_1055538188312157_6749393603916805572_n.jpeg

>> Vektorkollektor

Fotocredit: Johannes Richter

‣TRACKEDS &

DOITYOURSELF

BRIDA

T R A C K E D S

Trackeds untersucht Bewegungsdynamiken und topografische Strukturen in der

Stadt. Durch Aufnahmen diverser dynamischer Orte wird eine nicht-lineare Funktion

verbildlicht, welche die chaotischen Bewegungen sich selbstorganisierender Strukturen

in ausgesuchten städtischen Kontexten veranschaulicht. Die Künstler:innen

analysieren den Konstruktionsprozess der visuellen Arbeit. Sie automatisieren die

Interpretation der Prozessschritte mit einer mathematischen Gleichung.

D O I T Y O U R S E L F

Ist die direkte Übertragung von Kunst in die Gesellschaft möglich? Kann ein Werk

unabhängig von dem/der Künstler:in sein? Wie wird die kritische Distanz zwischen

Werk und Künstler:in in der Entstehung definiert? Diese Fragen sind Ausgangspunkt

für die Neueinschätzung bereits verfestigter künstlerischer Schaffensprozesse, die

nun auseinandergenommen und mit einer frischen Herangehensweise neu

zusammengesetzt werden. Ein Bild wird in seine Pixel zerlegt; Passant:innen malen

diese entsprechend einer automatisierten Ansage auf eine Plane. Quadrat für Quadrat

entsteht so durch Human Error und kollektives Arbeiten ein völlig neues Bild. 

>> Trackeds Chemnitz, Stadtzentrum

Fotocredit: BridA

DSC09101.jpg

>> Arbeit am Vektorkollektor

Fotocredit: Johannes Richter

DSC09112.jpg

>> Vektorkollektor

Fotocredit: Johannes Richter

 

‣DREI FRAGEN AN

NIKLAS ROY

 

Was waren deine ersten Assoziationen als du das Thema “Drag & Drop” erfahren hast? 

Niklas: "Als ich das Thema “Drag & Drop“ erfahren habe, dachte ich: klar - das hat was mit GUI’s zu tun, mit Computern, mit Oberflächeninteraktion, mit dem Draggen und Droppen von Dateien. Andererseits passt es natürlich auch sehr gut zu dem, was meine Partnerin Kati und ich gemeinsam künstlerisch machen. Wir arbeiten oft digital und im öffentlichen Raum und das bringt es mit sich, dass wir unsere physischen Installationen mitnehmen ("draggen") und dann eben auch dort, wo wir ein Publikum finden ("droppen")."

 

Was für ein Projekt habt ihr euch für die diesjährigen Dialogfelder überlegt?

 

Niklas: "Das Projekt an dem wir hier gerade gemeinsam arbeiten wird ein “Vektorkollektor“, ein mobiles Gerät, mit dem wir Vektoren einsammeln. Die Idee dabei ist, dass Menschen Zeichnungen mit einem Joystick anfertigen können. Die Bilder werden dabei digital gespeichert und wir bauen ein Archiv an Vektorzeichnungen auf. Die Vektoren werden wir in der letzten Woche weiterverarbeiten, mit dem Ziel auf dem Sonnenberg etwas Bleibendes zu hinterlassen."

 

Digitalität im Chemnitzer Stadtraum, vor allem auf dem Sonnenberg: Science-Fiction oder Alltag?

 

Niklas: "Auf dem Sonnenberg ist mir die Netzabdeckung über Freifunk sofort positiv aufgefallen. So etwas hätte ich in Berlin auch gerne. Da ist Chemnitz schon weiter als andere Städte und das ist eine tolle Sache."

‣DREI FRAGEN AN

BRIDA

Was für ein Projekt habt ihr euch für die diesjährigen Dialogfelder überlegt?

Sendi: "Als wir vom Klub Solitaer kontaktiert wurden, hatten wir direkt die Idee, dass die Stadt selbst Protagonist unseres Projektes werden soll. Wir haben zwei Projekte entwickelt - "DOITYOURSELF" ist eine Performance, bei der ein Bild kollektiv gezeichnet wird. Die Aktion findet beispielsweise in einem Park statt. Dort beginnen wir mit dem Malen anhand von Audioinstruktionen und laden Personen zur Teilnahme ein.
Im zweiten Projekt "Trackeds" sind Passant:innen unbewusst Teilnehmende. Die Filmaufnahmen der Stadt werden an unterschiedlichen Orten durchgeführt und die dabei erfassten Bewegungen der Autos und Menschen tragen dazu bei eine neue Arbeit zu erschaffen."

 

Hattet ihr im Vornherein schon ein Bild von Chemnitz oder habt ihr ein altes Bild zur Stadt bereits verworfen?

Sendi: "Nein, wir wussten nur, dass Chemnitz genau wie unsere Stadt Nova Gorica  zur Europäischen Kulturhauptstadt 2025 gewählt wurde. An dem Tag als wir ankommen sind war es kalt und regnerisch, so dass niemand auf der Straße war. Meine Wahrnehmung der Stadt hat sich dann jedoch in den nächsten Tagen geändert. Erst dann habe ich gesehen, wie viel hier passiert und dass hier tatsächlich Leute wohnen. Ich weiß, dass das für Chemnitzer:innen vielleicht absurd klingt, aber bisher bin ich nur sehr aufgeschossenen Personen begegnet. Deswegen hat sich mein Bild wenn dann nur zum Positiven geändert." 

Was möchtet ihr mit eurer Arbeit im Rahmen der Dialogfeldern sagen?

 

Sendi: "Tatsächlich sollen die Chemnitzer:innen ihre Ideen und Träume bezüglich der Stadt erzählen. Wir sind einfach nur gern drei Künstler:innen hinter der Kamera und möchten beobachten was passiert und uns mit den Bewohner:innen austauschen."

Jurij: "Für unsere Arbeit ist es typisch, dass wir eine Umgebung schaffen, bei der der öffentliche Raum im Fokus steht. Die Teilnehmenden erschaffen die Kunst. Das Interessante an unseren Projekten ist, dass die Kunst deshalb nicht nur von uns abhängig ist. Letztendlich sind wir also nicht nur Künstler:innen, sondern auch Beobachter:innen."

>> DOITYOURSELF Chemnitz

Fotocredit: Johannes Richter

>> DOITYOURSELF Chemnitz

Fotocredit: Johannes Richter

‣LOKALES SPIN-OFF

INES EISINGER | BIKINIKOMMANDO

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/3
künstlerische Dokumentation_BridA_Ines Eisinger.jpg

>> "Künstlerische Dokumentation Dialogfeld Zwei"

‣VERMITTLUNGSFORMATE

Mit einer Reihe von Verrmittlungsformaten gehen wir in die Nachbarschaft: Experimente mit digitalen Technologien und hybriden Formaten stehen dabei im Mittelpunkt. Oftmals spielerisch und stets mit Mitmachcharakter zeigen wir den Sonnenberger:innen kleinen Veranstaltungen und Aktionen neue künstlerische Werkzeuge der Stadtraumgestaltung auf, mit denen sie ihr Kiez aktiv mitformen können. 

WORKSHOP

GRAFFITIPLOT

KATI HYYPPÄ

SONNENZEICHEN

VEKTORSKOP

Mit Methoden des DIY und Handarbeit entwirft der Workshop Objekte und Experiences zu neuen Technologien. Hier kann die Nachbarschaft auf multimedialer Ebene künstlerisch experimentieren. 

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Tortuga e.V. entstand in diesem Rahmen ein großflächiges Grafitti an der Hausfassade der Jakobstraße 43, das von den Anwohner:innen mit eigenen Ideen ausgestaltet und geplottet werden konnte. 

Das Sonnenzeichen Vektorskop ist ein nachbarschaftliches Horoskop bestehend aus geplotteten Zeichnungen (Vektoren) und Texten der Sonnenberger:innen, die ihre fantasievollen und kuriosen Assoziationen zu den gesammelten kollektiven Ideen hier zugänglich machen. 

Mit Hilfe einer Universalformel kann jede:r sein/ihr Sonnenzeichen berechnen und Auskunft über seine/ihre Zukunft erhalten! 

07.08.21_1909
07.08.21_1909

press to zoom
07.08.21_1924
07.08.21_1924

press to zoom
Finalisierter Grafittiplot
Finalisierter Grafittiplot

press to zoom
07.08.21_1909
07.08.21_1909

press to zoom
1/3

>> Workshop Graffitiplot